Gluten-Free Beers and Alcoholic Beverages

02/20/2015 - Here is Celiac.com's most up-to-date list of gluten-free beers and alcoholic beverages.  The gluten status of the products listed below is accurate at the present time. However, as product formulations can change without notice, it is best to verify gluten-free product status by checking the ingredients yourself, or by contacting the manufacturer.
***Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are gluten-free. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
***Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid distilled beverages that use cereal grains in the manufacturing process, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
***So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

GLUTEN-FREE BEER:  A number of premium and craft brewers now produce specialty grain gluten-free beers using non-gluten ingredients such as buckwheat, sorghum, rice, corn, etc.
BEERS BREWED FROM GLUTEN-FREE GRAINS
Against the Grain by World Top Brewery
Birra 76 Bi-Aglut by Heineken Italy
Dragon's Gold by Bard's Tale
Element Plasma
Epic Glutenator
G-Free, St. Peter's Brewery
Green's—Discovery, Endeavour, Endeavour Dubble, Herald, Mission, Pathfinder, Pioneer, Quest, Trailblazer, and Tripel Blonde
Joseph James Fox Tail
New Grist by Lakefront Brewery
Passover Honey Beer by Ramapo Valley
RedBridge by Anheuser-Busch
Sorghum Molasses Brown by Outer Banks
Sprecher's Gluten Free Beer
St. Peter's
Toleration by Hambleton
Tread Lightly Ale and 3R Raspberry Ale by New Planet

BEERS BREWED FROM TRADITIONAL GRAINS AND TREATED TO REDUCE GLUTEN BELOW 20PPM INCLUDE:
Daura, Estrella Damm (Spain)
Omission (USA)

GLUTEN-FREE HARD CIDER:  Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!
GLUTEN-FREE HARD CIDER BRANDS
Ace Pear Cider
Angry Orchard
Blue Mountain Cider Company
Blackthorn Cider
Bulmer's Hard Cider
Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
Gaymer Cider Company
Harpoon Craft Cider
J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
Lazy Jack's Cider
Magner's Cider
Newton's Folly Hard Cider
Original Sin Hard Cider
Spire Mountain Draft Cider
Strongbow Cider
Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
Woodchuck
Woodpecker Cider

GLUTEN-FREE WINE:  All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.

GLUTEN-FREE WINE COOLERS:  The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products.
GLUTEN-FREE VERSIONS
Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages
Boones - all EXCEPT their malt beverages

OTHER GLUTEN-FREE ALCOHOLIC BREWS, WINES AND SPIRITS
Brandy
Campari
Champagne
Cognac—made from grapes
Cointreau
Grappa
Midori
Prosecco
Khalua Coffee Liquer
Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
Old Deadly Cider
Sambuca
Vermouth

GLUTEN-FREE DISTILLED ALCOHOLS:  Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'  So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

GLUTEN-FREE GIN:  Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
GLUTEN-FREE GIN BRANDS
Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes

BRANDS OF STANDARD GIN
Aviation American Gin
Beefeater
Bombay
Bombay Sapphire
Boodles British Gin
Booth's Gin
Gordon's
Leopolds Gin
New Amsterdam Gin
Seagram's
Tanqueray

GLUTEN-FREE RUM:  Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.
GLUTEN-FREE RUM BRANDS
Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored
Bayou Rum
Bundaberg Rum
Captain Morgan Rum
Cruzan Rum
Malibu Rum
Mount Gay Rum
Meyer's Rum

GLUTEN-FREE SAKE:  Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

GLUTEN-FREE TEQUILA:  Made from the agave cactus, all tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.
GLUTEN-FREE TEQUILA BRANDS
1519 Tequila
1800 Tequila
Cabo Wabo
Cazadores
Chimayo
Don Julio
El Jimador
Herradura
Hornitos
Jose Cuervo
Patron
Sauza

GLUTEN-FREE VODKA:  Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.
GLUTEN-FREE VODKA BRANDS
Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV
Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong
Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
Rice Vodka—Kissui
Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU

VODKAS DISTILLED FROM CEREAL GRAINS:  Many vodkas made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
Barley Vodka—Finlandia
Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,
Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
Rye Vodka—Belvedere, Biała Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Żubrówka

GLUTEN-FREE WHISKEY:  Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.
GLUTEN-FREE WHISKEY BRANDS
Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum

WHISKEYS DISTILLED FROM CEREAL GRAINS
Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, George Dickel, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,
Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt
Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse
Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker
Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic

GLUTEN-FREE DRINK MIXES
Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri.
TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix.

OTHER GLUTEN-FREE BEVERAGES MIXES & COOKING ALCOHOL
Club Tom Collins—made with corn
Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
Mead—made from honey
Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane
Ouzo - made from grapes and anise
Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White


Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice.

No comments:

Post a Comment